exercise · recipe

It’s a cold and rainy day.

Good morning all! It is a windy, cloudy, and rainy day here in Wisconsin. rain

Honestly, I am tired of the clouds already and winter has not even started yet. Guess it will be a rough winter. Anyway, on this gloomy day I have gotten dinner going in the crock pot and made some yummy paleo cookies for a co-workers birthday today (who has never eaten anything paleo before). Dinner is roast beef, I adapted a recipe to accommodate what ingredients I have. Here is what I did:

Ingredients: beef, 1/2 cup beef broth, 1 yellow onion sliced in rings, 1 Tbsp garlic, S & P for flavor, and 1 tsp onion powder

I lined the crock pot with the onion rings and set the beef on top. From there I sliced 4-5 slits in the beef and stuff it with minced garlic (added up to about 1 Tbsp total), then I used my S & P and sprinkled on the beef, and the 1 tsp onion powder. Last, poured in the 1/2 cup beef broth and now its cooking on low for 8 hours. I hope it turns out, I sure do love cooking in that thing. It’s so easy to take maybe 15 minutes in the morning to throw some meat, spices, stock, and veggies in the crock pot, turn it on and let it do it’s thing while you do yours! Great for busy people.

One of my co-workers has a birthday today so I thought I would make her some super yummy paleo cookies that fit well into the season right now. The recipe comes from one of my favorite Paleo bloggers, Primal Palate. Here is the link to her website and the Pumpkin Spice Cookies: http://www.primalpalate.com/paleo-recipe/pumpkin-spice-cookies/ . They are super simple and there is no added sugar, the sugar comes from he maple syrup and the natural sugars from the coconut flakes, and possibly a little from the pumpkin puree (if you use the canned stuff). They turn out really soft and chewy and who doesn’t like soft, chewy cookies?! That’s what I thought!

Onto exercise business, yesterday was my first day doing some serious overhead stuff (we did lots of snatches and overhead squats). I was a little worried as I am getting over a strained trapezius muscle. After 2 weeks of not working the upper body, I can say I have no pain this morning. Not being able to workout as frequently these last two weeks has sent me into a whirlwind of grumpy moods and impatience, however, look at the outcome, the injury is better. Imagine that. The point is, we have setbacks in our journey towards our goals. These setbacks can be infuriating at times, but I think they need to be looked at differently. Maybe the setbacks NEED to happen in order for us to focus on something else in life that needs our attention or maybe life is telling us to slow down, you need to take a chill pill. The latter could be true for me right now. Have you had any setbacks in the last week or month? How did you handle it? How do you feel about it now?

This leads me to the word for the day today, patience. This is a very difficult thing for lots of people to do. I am one of those people, so everyday I work at it. be patient with your coworkers if you are having a bad day. Be patient if your kids are driving you a little bit nuts. Be patient with your loved ones too. Also, be patient with your progress in your journey to success, whether that is weight loss, weight gain, muscle gain, better agility, etc. Results are not instant, they take time. Whatever effort you put into them is what will come out, you just have to be patient.

-Courtny

Leave a Reply

