paleo · recipe

There is always hope.

Good morning everybody, it is a brisk 12 degrees with a windchill of -5 outside right now in Milwaukee. It is November 18th, it should not be that cold yet, that is like late December, beginning of January weather. What the heck mother nature?!

I have dinner cooking in the crockpot again today, trying a recipe from my all time favorite Paleo cookbook, The Paleo Kitchen by Juli Bauer of Paleomg and George Bryant of The Civilized Caveman. The recipe that is cooking right now is the Garlic and Thyme Standing Rib Roast. I modified it a bit to make it work for the crockpot as this recipe is usually cooked in the oven, so here is my take on it:

Ingredients:  4 pounds bottom round roast, 1Tbsp minced garlic, 1tsp sea salt, 1/2 Tbsp ground pepper, 1Tbsp Thyme, EVOO (not sure how much, drizzled on top)

1) Dry off the beef roast with a paper towel and place in the crockpot.

2) Sprinkle the salt and pepper over the roast, then drizzle the EVOO over the meat (don’t slather, just get enough on there to rub in well), rub into the meat and cover all surfaces.

3) Take your garlic and rub it all over the surface of the meat and rub into the meat too.

4) Sprinkle thyme over the top.

5) Cover and cook on low for 8 hours.

Again, this is my take on their recipe, if you want the real deal you have to buy the cookbook, which can be found at Barnes & Noble, on Amazon, and at Costco! It is seriously the best thing ever and about half of the recipes I make each week come from this book! It smells amazing though and I cannot wait to taste it!

As for my thoughts for today, good things are starting to happen, however, I will not share them until I know if they happen or not. Please say a little prayer for me though on Thursday around 11am CST, I could use it! I am hoping that my hard work over the last 2 years will pay off and that I will be working full time again, it sure would be the icing on the cake after the mostly good year it has been in 2014. I say mostly good as we had a few pet deaths in the family this year that were unexpected, but this year was the best year because I married the man of my dreams and he truly is everything I have ever wanted. He loves me for who I am, he understands that I am a weird person and a perfectionist and has helped me overcome so many things in order to trust a man again. I am the luckiest girl in the world. He is my (as I put it yesterday) my Capt. America, my Superman, and my Batman. basically my hero. Love you babe.

Captain_America_boxartWord of the day today is warmth. You can take this a few ways: just stay warm if you are currently experiencing cold weather, bundle up with your loved ones or your pets, with your favorite blanket and stay warm. Or you can take it this way, share the warmth you have, whether it is love or passion with the people around you. We are getting into the time of year where we are better at showing our gratefulness and love for others, so start today. If you see someone at Target struggling with their bags, go help, smile at them, just do something to make their day better. You never know what this person might be going through and your kindness might just make a difference.

Have a great Tuesday!

-Courtny

Leave a Reply

