exercise · motivational

Jello…

Good morning all! It is Friday and even though my body was aching all over this am, the husband and I hit up our Crossfit box and worked on new 5RM’s on deadlift and bench press. I hit two PR’s this morning. Bench press is by far my weakest, but I hit a 5RM of 80# which I will take. My low back, glutes, and hamstrings are toast after the last two days, so I struggled with deadlifts today, but even though my form kind of sucked squeaked out a 5RM of 195# for the deadlifts. I love deadlifts, but my back does not, so hopefully it will be feeling alright later. Now I can say I feel like jello, every single part of me feels like jello.

deadlift-meme

Yesterday was the last night of the session for my swim team until January and the kids requested that I swim with them. So I did. This included racing with them for the time trials. Now, I want to put it out there, I have not swam competitively in 10.5 years. The kids chose for me to swim a 100 Back and a 50 Fly. Warming up I noticed I was off on my counting on my backstroke turns, so I was getting flustered a bit. But I eventually got back into and that is not too bad after not having done this in a long time. My times were not awful, but not that close to what I swam at my peak. In the 100 Back I swam a 1:21 (when I competed, I swam a 1:09) and in the 50 Fly I swam a 37.00 (when I competed I swam a 29.00 at my best), so a bit off, but the best part was was how excited the kids were that I was racing with them. When I did my turns I could hear or see them cheering so loudly, it was at that point that I just had fun with it and swam for them as hard as I could. That is why I love swimming and why I love coaching.

I am so excited for the next few weeks, next week is Thanksgiving and I am cooking this year for most of the food. I love Thanksgiving because of not only the food, but the traditions my family has. Every year my sister and I would always watch the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade, and then after watch the Dog Show. For breakfast we usually have Monkey Bread and stuff out faces with it because my mom makes it the best. I love the turkey, the pea salad, the stuffing, the yams, and the pies, oh my the pies!! I also will steal all the black olives, always have and always will I love them. Then after we eat we always watch It’s a Wonderful Life, one of my all time favorite movies. A nap comes in this area too for all that turkey. Sometimes we will have the football game on, especially if it is the Packers while we eat. I am not sure what it is, but I could not think of a better way to spend time with my family. I love them.

Thought for the day: “Don’t give up, the beginning is always the hardest”. -a pin I found on Pinterest 

Don’t give up when you try something new guys, keep pushing forward and use all positive and negative experiences as lessons learned. It will help.

-Courtny

One thought on “Jello…

Leave a Reply

