recipe

What a weekend!!

Hi everybody, I had such a fun weekend and am now just getting to share it with you all! So here is what happened:

For the last month-two months I have been keeping a secret from my twin sister Brittany (she is on the right and I am on the left). I told her I was unable to come up with our mom for a visit due to it being the last few weeks of Grad School. Well I was able to.

0052Β  So she thought our dad was coming, but it was me. She ugly cried and it was hilarious, but she was truly happy I was there. We went and saw the musical her husband was apart of for Rochester Mayo High School (he was directing the Pit Orchestra). They did the version of Cinderella that Brandy was in a while back and let me tell you, it was AMAZING! The singing, the acting, and the music were spot on and could not have been any better.

The car ride home I was hurting, however, from the workout I had done that morning, I mentioned it on my last post and I am finally not hurting three days later. Anyway, the car ride home was EPIC. The most hilarious moments of our lives together, happened in the car we shared in high school. My twin and I love to dance and sing in the car. I wanted to listen to Backstreet Boys, so we did. And we sang. Very Loudly. And it was great. Brittany requested we listen to the song where they rap, so we did and this guy next to us looked at us like we were mad. Now our mom is sitting in the backseat just tuning us out while we started laughing so hard we could not even breathe, but it was fun. I love moments like that.

We also went shopping with our mom on Saturday to get some Christmas gifts as we are celebrating Christmas a little earlier this year as a family. We were very successful. Brittany and I were extremely secretive and again our mom tuned us out and Brittany and I just laughed and laughed because we kept reading each others minds. It was creepy and yes, it does happen in twins, the mid-reading thing. Even though we live 4.5 hours apart it still happens. It is awesome. One of my followers knew us in high school, I bet Ali you remember just how crazy we were, right?! πŸ™‚

On Saturday we watched our Minnesota Golden Gophers play the Cornhuskers from Nebraska. To be very honest, after the first half of the game I was thinking we were not going to win the game, but just hoped and prayed they could turn it around. Holy crap, did they. Defense was better this week and I do not think we had any turnovers or interceptions which is very good. There were a few missed calls on both sides, but somehow, some way the Gophers kicked it up a notch and BOOM! we were up 28-24 with less than 3:30 left in the game. My sister and I were screaming and jumping and running around her house because we were so excited. The icing on the cake was a miscue from the Nebraska QB who threw an interception with less than 2 minutes left. It was then that I realized just how special this season has been so far for the Gopher Football team. Coach Kill has done so much for them and they trust him. Us, the fans trust him and we know that good things have happened and will continue to happen. We have fair weather fans just like any other team, but I have stuck by them through thick and thin, through all the transitions and I am beyond proud of my team. I am very much looking forward to see what comes this weekend in a tough game in what is by far the best rivalry in college football and in which ever Bowl Game we go to. So Go Gophers and Ski-U-Mah!!

On top of all the fun we had this weekend, I am looking forward to Thanksgiving this year. My mom has to work, she is a DNP and has to work on Thanksgiving, so I get to cook this year. My husband and I will go to my parents house so my dad is not alone. We are having Monkey Bread for breakfast (not paleo or remotely healthy, but it is tradition), but the rest of the day I am making it as healthy as possible with the main meal, BUT the pies, those will be the normal pies because those are the best part of the day! I am sharing one of the recipes I am going to make on Thursday!

Honey Maple Roasted Carrots

Will need: 1/4 cup coconut oil melted, 1 Tbsp organic honey, 1/4 cup maple syrup, 8-10 large carrots peeled, and pinch of salt.

1) Pre-heat the oven to 400 degrees F

2) Mix together the coconut oil, honey, and maple syrup. Place the carrots in a glass baking dish and pour the honey maple mixture on top. Turn the carrots over to coat them evenly and sprinkle with salt.

3) Bake in the oven for 50-55 minutes or till the carrots are slightly brown and soft. Sprinkle a tiny bit of brown sugar over the top and a little bit more honey if desired. Eat up!!

Super excited to try this recipe and it should be beautiful on our Thanksgiving table! Feel free to share any of your favorite foods, I love hearing what others do for Thanksgiving with their families!

Finally, the word of the day isΒ family. I don’t know about you guys, but family is by far the most important thing in the world, so don’t forget that this week as the holiday season begins. Also, don’t forget that others have families they might not get to see on Thanksgiving because the stores feel that being open at 6pm is acceptable. So be nice to anybody working on Thursday and Friday, heck, all weekend long, because they might not get to be with their families. Have a great rest of your Monday everybody!

-Courtny

4 thoughts on “What a weekend!!

Leave a Reply

