motivational

Do it for yourself!

Good morning, everyone! Hope you are all having or had a good Monday so far, I know it is hard to say after a long weekend. Finally sitting down and relaxing for a bit before I work on my last final ever for Grad school and my presentation for my thesis defense. Already have gotten a workout in, ran to Target, donated two garbage bags full of clothes to Goodwill, and sent out our Thank You/Christmas cards! Busy busy!!

I was pleasantly surprised at Target today, I saw they are now selling my favorite kombucha, and a few other healthy and paleo friendly drinks!

kombucha suja kombucha soda

Synergy is my favorite brand of Kombucha, which is a fermented tea basically that has a “scoby” in it or it is a cultured bacteria. Now before you are like whoa, this bacteria is similar to how probiotics work in our gut. Now, there is no scientific research that backs this up yet, but kombucha has become such a big thing in the whole foods realm and natural foods realm and people have said that it makes them feel good and acts like it “cleanses” or makes the gut feel better! It is not for everybody, but I love the stuff. I have yet to try Suja and the Live Kombucha Soda as I am not a big soda drinker, but it wouldn’t hurt to try it, some of my favorite Paleo bloggers love the stuff. Prices range for kombucha from $3.49-$4.99 depending on brand and type of store you purchase it at. Whole Foods and Outpost Natural Food Store are usually a little bit more pricey than at Sendik’s or Target.

So, I wanted to talk today about how I got myself motivated into being such a fitness guru. I can honestly tell you that in college I hated going to the Rec Center to workout and usually just used marching band and all the walking I did on the University of Minnesota’s campus as my exercise. It’s a big campus and it was easier to walk if on the West Bank and East Bank.

Anyway, Even when I started working in gyms as a trainer and group exercise instructor, I was so shy to workout in front of anybody. I get easily distracted and when I feel nervous about what I am doing then I just do not feel like working out. Well, I found that working out in the early morning helped for me a lot. There were not many people in before 6am and it gave me a lot of energy for the rest of the day. In the beginning I did a lot of functional resistance training and TRX training. I love TRX! Using your own body weight as the weight you are working against is genius and can make a really good workout.

From there, I tried adding in cardio, but I really do not like cardio machines and that stopped quickly. I stuck with this routine for a few years and saw some great results going into my sister’s wedding in 2010, but due to other circumstances I gained the weight back and was not sure what else to do. When my husband and I started dating, we were members at the YMCA, but the lack of good equipment and the rude people drove us to leave there. That is when we found Crossfit.

One of my former co-workers had been doing Crossfit for over a year and so I asked him if it was worth a shot, he said yes! So we tried it and that first day we did a WOD called “Randy” which consists of 75 power snatches 55/75# for time. I had never done a snatch before, pretty sure my husband had not either. Well, even though we were so very sore the next day we went back for more and have been doing Crossfit for 2.5 years now. I never thought I would be doing Olympic lifts and gymnastics work as my workout, but now I can’t think of any other way to keep in shape (for myself, I want to make that clear, FOR MYSELF).

I am literally in the best shape of my life. I grew up as the larger twin and it has plagued me forever. I hated being in a size large or wearing a size 11 jeans as a teenager. I was never overweight, but I carried weight that just sat and made me chunky in places. I still have my moments now where I do not like what I see, BUT now to me it does not matter what size my jeans are (because I am so muscular it ranges from a 6-10 depending on brand and if they can get over my quads) or what size shirt I am wearing (ranges from S to L depending on brand and if my arms can fit in the sleeves). It truly does not matter. I can also tell you guys, I never weigh myself. When I do it depresses me so much and I of all people should know that muscle weight more than fat and I have a lot of it. I go by how my clothes fit and how my body feels. For me it works.

us The husband and I on our honeymoon.

I hope my story has impacted at least one person. For me, not really liking to workout but knowing I had to practice what I preach was important. Then it grew on me and now I love how I feel when the adrenaline is going through me. So case in point, find what works for you and feed off of that feeling. Go now…go workout!

Quote of the day: ” Do it for every time you cried over your body. Do it for every time you hated what you saw in the mirror. Do it for the fit body and the double takes. Do it for yourself”.

Leave a Reply

