Uncategorized

End of the week, finally.

Hey all, I feel like it took forever for Friday to get here today. I was just about to say how uneventful this week has been, but now that I am sitting here reflecting back on it, it has been very eventful.

I mentioned that I am waiting in limbo to hear back on when I can defend my thesis, which is a nerve racking and exciting all at the same time.

I had a job offer, so I am waiting to hear back on the logistics of that, and I am very excited for this new opportunity!

Then I think of some of the other things and I honestly wonder why we as a society can be so rude to others. When did we become so self-centered? Whatever happened to being genuine and not fake? I must have been blind and naive to have missed this. (Just speaking figuratively here people, not picking on any one person in particular and when I say we I mean America’s society as a whole).

Then while eating my lunch today, which was leftovers from last night (Paleo Shake-n-Bake Pork and brussell sprouts), I wondered why I refused to eat brussell sprouts as a kid. I hated them and then I tried them over the summer and they are seriously one of my favorite veggies ever now! What was my problem?! I am so slow on trying new things, so when it comes to broadening my horizons, it takes a LONG time.

For instance, sushi. I am not a fish person, but I wanted to try it and my husband and I had sushi one night and guess what…LOVED IT! Now, whenever I see sushi, I freak out and have to have it. We even went to a fancy shmancy sushi place on our honeymoon and it was fabulous!

10601012_10104950336233440_1337146762_n

Us on our Honeymoon.

sushi

Only the most amazing Sushi EVER! Japanego (Hyatt Resort, Maui).

My husband is honestly the one person who can get me to try new things. He taught me how to use chop sticks too, and I actually use them better than him now, its weird, but I just smile and shove food in my mouth. He also has gotten me to open up to try clams (honeymoon), and ahi tuna (which is super yummy!). Without him I do not think I would try anything new, so I love him for that. Sorry for the complete and utter randomness of this post so far, just did a lot of thinking today.

Another thing I have been thinking a lot about the last few days is how hard I have worked in Grad School. I graduate on 12/13/14 (hey look at that, symbolic date day!), and I have earned every A I have gotten and learned SOOO much about the topic I love (Exercise Science). I have learned how to apply this in clinical ways and I have learned again why I love the human body, it is fascinating. I am so happy that I am doing something that I truly enjoy, and I hope that I can continue to do so.

Lastly, I love that life does change (yes, I said change). What I mean here is making new friends. I love meeting new people and reconnecting with old friends, it makes me so happy. That is what I am doing right now and let me tell you, my friends are so wonderful. They are genuine, caring, fun-loving, and supportive. They are sweet, intelligent, and crazy too. All of them are in different areas of life right now, some are raising babies, some are thinking about it, while others are still working to figure out what they want in life. So, to my friends that might be reading this, thank you and know that you mean so much to me and I love you guys, I really do.

Word of the day today is reflect. Reflect on your current life situation and make sure to take time to smile about all the good things and think about the negative things. Trust me, if you need this, it will help! Have a great Friday!

-Courtny

Leave a Reply

