exercise

It’s flu season…

flu

Geez, it sucks that many people that I know, including myself are coming down with some form of the flu. I hope we all feel better before Christmas this week, being sick over Christmas is just the pits.

Sorry, I have been MIA for a few days, I started my new job and then with not feeling well, I ignored my computer all weekend long. But oh, there is so much to share, like recipes!!

I have had SO much fun meal planning with all my favorite paleo cookbooks and cooking yummy and clean meals for the husband and myself this past week, that I just literally can’t get enough of these recipes! I never used to enjoy cooking that much, say after college and when I had my own place by myself. It is difficult cooking for just one person, but now, cooking is like therapy for me. And for me it is rewarding to see my husband inhale his food and ask for seconds and thirds…it just makes me so happy that he loves it that much. So, that definitely motivates me to want to keep trying new recipes!

I also am so excited now to try new things, such as Apricot Chili Glazed Prosciutto Wrapped Shrimp from Danielle Walker’s Holiday eBook Joyful. I plan on making this recipe for a get together we are having on Sunday for the Packer game, so here it is:

Ingredients:

Glaze: 1/2 cup dried, unsulphured apricots, 1 1/4 cups water, divided, 1/4 cup Grade B maple syrup, 1/2 tsp chili powder, 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper, 1 lb large, raw shrimp, deveined and peeled, 6 oz prosciutto, sliced thin into ribbons

1) Heat oven to 425 degree F.

2) Place the apricots in a saucepan and add 3/4 cup of water, maple syrup, chili powder, and cayenne. Bring to a boil and simmer for 10 minutes, until most of the liquid has evaporated and the apricots are rehydrated.

3) Transfer the mixture to a blender and add the remaining water. Blend until smooth.

4) Wrap each piece of shrimp with prosciutto and place them seam-side down on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Brush the tops with the glaze.

5) Bake for 10-12 minutes, until the shrimp are opaque throughout. Brush again with glaze midway through. Serve hot!

Again, this recipe is from Danielle Walker, author of Against All Grain and it is from her Holiday eBook! It is on sale on Amazon right now for $1.99!!

This eBook is really amazing too if you are looking for healthy cookie recipes, such as cookie cutter cookies, ginger snaps, and even gingerbread! I know I am going to give them a try for this week’s festivities!!

Other news to report, I am happy to see my friends around the world accomplishing things, such as finishing school, having their first children, starting up their own health bars, doing races they never thought they could (marathons and mud runs), and obviously getting engaged and getting married. I may not talk to all these people a whole lot anymore, but that does not mean that I don’t get excited for them. At one point in my life all of my friends meant something to me and that never changes in my opinion. So to all my friends out their, way to go on the new job, on having a baby, and starting new lives with your loved ones, I am extremely happy for you!

Lastly, even with not feeling well today, I hit a PR for my clean and jerk. I have been struggling with hitting a 145# clean and jerk and this morning I got it. And it was easy, so I have 150 and 155 in my sites. Sometimes I really surprise myself and remember just how far I have come. My journey in crossfit has truly changed my life and I honestly have never felt better.

I may have said this before, but go out there and try something new guys! The New Year is literally just around the corner, so now is the time to plan this stuff. Always wanted to do a Tough Mudder? Sign up for it! Always wanted to run a 5K because even though running is not your thing, you thought to yourself “I can do that”, go, DO IT! I am a firm believer in thinking if we set our minds to something and work for it we can achieve anything. So people, go, the world is yours for the taking!

Have a great Monday!

-Courtny

Leave a Reply

