motivational

No resolutions for me…but…

Yes, you read that right, I am NOT setting any resolutions this year. I actually do not like the term resolution. According to the Merriam-Webster Dictionary, a resolution is the act of finding an answer or solution to a conflict or a problem. I do not view things I want to work on as problems, I view them as my lifestyle. We choose to add it into our lifestyle and choose not too. These things are not problems in our lives per-say, I mean they can be, but are they a mental problem or a physical/medical problem?

Every year we see gym memberships influx the first week or so of the New Year, and then by March they stop going. People say this is my year to lose the weight…this is my year to *insert resolution here*… But, many of us fail to stick with it! This resolution we made, is it really something we want to have fixed or are we comfortable with where we are at? Or is it not a problem at all and you just feel like fitting in with everybody else because your Facebook news feed is chalk full of resolutions? Think about it for a minute….. Ok, ready for a new thought process? Here we go.

It is a new year to set goals, not resolutions. You might be thinking, but aren’t they the same thing? Maybe, but not how I view them. I already said a resolution is fixing a problem, but a goal is something you strive for, something to work towards. To me a resolution has a negative twist to it whereas a goal has more of a positive outlook. By setting goals you can focus on positive things to reach that goal you set.

For example, one of my goals this year is to try a 21 day sugar detox so I can share my experience with my clients on how it was for me. If you know me you know I LOVE sugar, so doing something like that for me will be difficult, but it is not a solution to a problem, it is simply me wanting to try something new. Another goal I have for myself this year is to sign up for one or two Crossfit competitions this year. Again, this is not a solution to problem, it is me working towards trying something new. I have been wanting to do another one since the summer of 2013 and because of school I have not been able to commit to it, but now I can. See a pattern here, I am working towards trying new things, not trying to fix myself.

Sure, just like most people I want to lose weight, but that can be such a negative experience for people, as well as for myself, I would rather focus on my eating and getting my workouts in as scheduled. So, two other goals for myself would be to continue (notice I did not say start) getting into the gym 4-5 times a week and maybe even two-a-days when I have the time; and to continue to learn about Paleo and to adventure through the vast array of cookbooks that are out there that make it onto my shelf. So, again, these are goals for me not resolutions as I do not like the idea of fixing myself when I do not see anything that needs to be fixed.

I just want to reiterate that I know others might find my view to be the complete opposite of themselves, but I do find that setting short term and long term goals can be more beneficial for people. I do understand that some people are trying to fix certain things in their lives and a resolution is exactly what they need, but if that is the case, set mini-goals a long the way to help you reach that resolution. I do not like seeing people becoming a number in the statistics of people who fail to obtain their resolutions every year. As cheesy as it is, this is your year to achieve anything you set your mind too.

So my advice, take with a grain of salt. I love helping others and have found many people I have worked with and love dearly to succeed, so just consider it. Have a great Monday everybody. If you are in the arctic blast that is the US of A right now, stay warm!!

Happy-New-Year-2015-Beach-04

-Courtny

Leave a Reply

