exercise · motivational

New week, let’s do this!

something-encouragement-and-inspiration-at-www-abettermedaybyday-com-20141007110722-5433c96a0f55b

Today I was asked to give advice. I gave it. Sometimes we say things that we might not think about before saying and it comes off in a manner that might be difficult to handle. Always think before we speak people.

Ok, I think it needs to be mentioned that if you are looking at doing something new or doing something new that you may not like to do that I (a professional in fitness) was once a beginner too. Up until I started my job as a personal trainer I will tell you that besides swimming working out was NOT my favorite thing. It took so much of me to get started in it, but what drove me the most was the part where if I am someone’s personal trainer I have to practice what I preach. So I literally forced myself to get up and workout before work or during downtime.

In the beginning, I felt weak and tired afterwards, but the more I worked out the better I felt, the more energy I had and the better I became in my job itself. Long story short, it is ok to not be perfect when starting a new task. It is ok to feel discouraged, BUT do not let that get you down. Work from it, use that frustration to power through whatever it is you are working on, whether it is training for a 5k, a new job, or losing weight. It does take time, but you can do it and you will. Give yourself time and you will succeed!

Here is a simple idea for a fast and quick body-weight workout if you are short on time:

15 min AMRAP (as many rounds/reps as possible)

5 push-ups

5 tricep dips

10 air squats

10 lunges

15 sit-ups

15 jumping jacks

This will get many of the major muscle groups in one workout (legs, chest, triceps, core) and adds cardiovascular endurance to your routine as well. The key is to keep moving the whole 15 minutes, taking rest as needed, but not minutes worth, more like 5 breaths and then push on. You control the pace though, so you can go slow or fast, but it is up to you and you want to get the most out of your workout, so make the best of it!

Word of the day is think. Think before you speak, think before you make a decision, do not rush into anything guys. In our society today we do not take time to think, we just do, so let’s change that and think for yourself!!

-Courtny

One thought on “New week, let’s do this!

  1. Great posting. The reminder for the subject matter that you presented is one that we tend to forget on many occasions, thanks for the reminder of thinking and realistic expectations. I am going to be trying the 15 work out as I have many days when I need to “jump start” or stop myself from mindless eating.

    Like

Leave a Reply

