nutrition

What a night!

Hey everybody! Shocker of the day, the sun is shining right now, but will probably disappear as I type. It tends to go away as soon as us Wisconsinites acknowledge it’s presence.

Yesterday was a busy day, but really important day for me. Back in August 2012 I bought my first car (I had the car my twin and I shared in high school prior to that) and yesterday I paid it off. This would not have been possible without the help of my wonderful husband and my parents as I was in school and not working a ton, but it is paid and it is all mine. So of course, today I had to take it in to the dealership for most likely $500+ which is just not cool whatsoever. But, I need my car to actually run properly, so it has to be done.

I also got to catch up with my best friend yesterday for lunch. You guys have to know that my best friend is one of the most remarkable women I have ever met. She is extremely driven and is phenomenal at her job. She has a few things going on right now that might be amazing, so say a few prayers for her, she is going to be a rock star I swear!!

So, last night, my husband and I went to dinner with my mom and dad to Rock Bottom Brewery for their birthday dinner and it was really good. I did enjoy a few non-Whole 30 foods, but other than that I kept it as clean as I could. I had a margarita, enjoyed one southwest egg roll, then for dinner I had just a burger with no bun, but with red onion, tomato, pickles, lettuce, and instead of fries had veggies. Still very tasty, but without the guilt. As we were celebrating my parents’ birthdays, we all shared this gigantic piece of carrot cake. This thing was so big that not even the four of us could eat the whole thing. I had maybe 6 or 7 bites, but they were nothing huge. And oddly enough, I was not craving more sugar after eating the cake.

What I described above is a really good example of how you can go out to eat and still be good with your food choices. You want a hamburger, then ask for no bun, they will give you extra lettuce. Look at the sides options the restaurant has and choose what you think is the best choice for you instead of having french fries. Be wise with alcohol consumption. I had only one drink and tequila is allowed as a cheat in the Paleo diet, so I figured that was ok to enjoy for the evening. Going out and eating healthy does not have to be dramatic and awful as it might seem it could be when you are first starting a new diet or lifestyle change. Just keep and open mind and be wise about it.

ABC_CARLTON_141007_DG_16x9_992

OK, back to last night. We went to see the Dancing With The Stars Live Tour Show and let me tell you, it was AMAZING!!! These dancers are sooo good and getting to see Alfonso Ribeiro in person was out of this world. If you check out my instagram down in the bottom right corner, there are a bunch of videos from different dances throughout the night. Words really do escape me as to how much respect I have for dancers in general, what they do is incredible and beautiful. The passion they have for what they do is so inspiring as well and just makes me smile and not want to stop. Needless to say, I am incredibly happy we were able to go to that show last night and I hope to do it again!

I hope your Friday ends well everybody and I hope you all have a great weekend. Find something that makes you smile today!

-Courtny

Leave a Reply

