Uncategorized

It’s a snowy, snowy Sunday

Hey everybody, sorry for being MIA for a few days, been really busy with life. You know how that goes.

So one of my favorite things to do on either snowy days like today or rainy days is watch movies. Or cook/bake. Today though is the ideal day for movie watching. The husband and I have very different tastes as to what makes for the best snowy day movie viewing (his idea was a Die Hard movie marathon), while I am more of the chick flick or Disney realm. So, here is my list of my favorite movies for a snowy day!

1. Pride & Prejudice (2005)

Prideandprejudiceposter

This movie is one of my all time favorites for a few reasons. The first reason is the beautiful love story that Jane Austen brought through in this story. We are all so caught up in our own Pride that we tend to not open our minds and our hearts to the good that people do do for others. Second reason would be that my twin sister and I watched this movie on repeat all the time in college. We would literally watch it every chance we could, especially when we should have been studying for midterms or finals, we said lets watch P & P and make cookies! So it is a happy memory for me because it was something my sister and I did together. Kieira Knightley and Matthew Macfadden are mesmerizing in this movie, so highly recommended!

2. Frozen

frozen

OK, yes, Frozen. I am not ashamed to say that I absolutely am in love with Disney movies at the age of 28. I grew up with Disney. I was born in CA and I remember when my mom and my Aunt would get us up really early during the summer and take us to Disneyland all the time. This particular movie revolves around the strong love that sisters hold for each other, so of course reminds me of how much I love my own sister. If you haven’t see this movie yet, you must. Olaf and Sven make this movie even more special with their crazy antics and in the end you will want to have both as members of your family!

3. Harry Potter Series

harry potter

Think what you may, but these movies are just wonderful. It would take more than a day to watch all the HP movies, but it would definitely keep you busy. Who can resist the magic and humor that these movies provide?!

4. The Phantom of the Opera (2004)

pofo

This is another movie my sister and I watched ALL THE TIME in college. We both would swoon over Gerard Butler, as he was the sexiest phantom ever and his voice made your knees weak. I have seen many versions of The Phantom of the Opera and have enjoyed them all, but this was a very well done movie with beautiful singing.

5. Singing in the Rain

singing in the rain

Singing in the Rain is my all time favorite movie. I love old musicals and Gene Kelly is my favorite actor of all time. This movie has the humor factor, the love story, and a tiny bit of drama! AND, lots of dancing and singing, you seriously cannot go wrong with this movie!

6. Meet Me in St. Louis

Meet-Me-in-St-Louis-Trolley

Oh man, this is another amazing movie! One of my favorite actresses of all time, Judy Garland and Meet Me in St. Louis. Again, another movie my sister and I watched all the time together, but this movie is just so much fun. It shows the love and support of a family at the turn of the century and how different “courting” was in the early 1900’s. And it includes Judy Garland’s version of “I’ll Be Home For Christmas”, which in my opinion is one of the most beautiful versions of the song.

7. Burlesque

burlesque

Here is one of my guilty pleasures. Some people felt this movie was not that great, but I thought it was wonderful! Christina and Cher were phenomenal in this movie and the music and dancing was out of this world. I also loved the costumes. Typical chick flick that makes you want to dance and sing, so a perfect pick for a snowy day!

8. Mamma Mia (2008)

mamma mia

This movie holds a very special spot in my heart. I remember when it first came out I never wanted to watch it, but one day I did with my mom and dad and fell in love with the music. I love it so much now that at my wedding reception we did a special bridesmaids dance to “Dancing Queen”. I love this movie because it is my mom’s favorite movie and play. So the music and dancing in this movie, again, is perfect for a snowy day!

9. Anastasia (1997)

Original Cinema Quad Poster - Movie Film Posters

This is another movie that my sister and I watched all the time together. It is commonly mistaken for a Disney movie, but was produced by 20th Century Fox. It is a fun movie about a princess who is looking to find who she is after losing her memory and finds love along the way!

10. Enchanted

enchanted

This is the Disney Princess movie to trump all Disney Princess movies. I love Enchanted because it ties in so many of the iconic parts of previous Disney movies all into the same movie! I mean, even the woman who sang for Ariel in “The Little Mermaid” is the secretary at McDreamy’s office!!! This is a good one to watch with your girlfriends, your man, or your daughter(s) on a snowy day in, it’s just too much fun!!

Alright, I know this post is not about fitness or healthy foods, but hey, it is always fun to mix it up a bit! Stay safe it is snowing where you live and do not be in a hurry, take your time today people!

-Courtny

Leave a Reply

