motivational · paleo · recipe

Listen to your Heart

Hey everybody, made it through the storm yesterday, we got a heck of a lot. The husband and I went to Crossfit this morning and the streets were still pretty bad, in some places we had a difficult time getting through, but we did. The key is to take it slow and don’t rush, it is not worth it.

I hope you all enjoyed my movie list. As always as soon as I posted those I remembered even more to add, the one that I wish I had remembered was the Back to the Future trilogy. Those are always a great choice for a day stuck in the house!

I have so many things on my mind and some are rather conflicting. I always like to remember that listening to my heart is my best advice. I am an over thinker and tend to look at all sides of everything and get super stressed about things. The one thing I strive to improve everyday is doing things for me. By listening to what my heart, no more so my gut, I am truly doing something for me.

The last few weeks have been rough in terms of organization and I have been not as strict with getting my workouts in. Yesterday I finally had it and listened to what my heart wanted and I actually sat down and put into my schedule the days I would go into Crossfit this week and told my husband to hold me accountable. When I workout I feel happier and more like myself, so I have been unhappy in this sense lately and it is important to listen to what you want. Not what others want, it is your body and your life, so if it wants to work out, let it!

This thought process can be used in so many different areas, such as, physical fitness, your nutrition/diet, your relationships, your career, and how you handle yourself in the public eye to name a few. Long story short is do what ultimately makes you happy. Do not hold back because it might not be what someone else wants for you (unless that someone is your spouse, then sit and talk, find the right balance, you want them to support you 100%). Listening to what you want will only make you a happier and more positive person, so trust in yourself!

So, speaking of doing what I wanted this morning, I hit a PR on my 3RM Back Squat today at 170#. My final rep got a little scary as I dropped my chest and shifted my weight out of my heels. DO NOT DO THAT! I did get it up though and I wish I would have gone for 175#, but next time, there is always a next time. It felt good to get in there and lift today and everybody else did a great job too. The husband got a 10# PR for his 3RM at 255# and one of the girls in my class is overcoming a knee injury and was squatting with no issues that I saw today, so I was really happy for her! It is little things like that that make me smile everyday.

New recipe to share with you all! I have yet to try this one, but I have been loving me some sweet potatoes lately and found this one. It sounds delicious and I know the husband would love it too!

It is from plaidandpaleo.com.

rosemary-sweet-potato-chips_plaidandpaleo-3

Paleo Rosemary and Sea Salt Sweet Potato Chips
Ingredients
  • 2 large sweet potatoes, peeled
  • 1 Tbls coconut oil, melted
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 2 tsp dried rosemary

Directions

  1. Heat oven to 375 degrees.
  2. Slice sweet potatoes using a mandolin set to 1/8th inch.
  3. Grind sea salt and rosemary with a mortar and pestle.
  4. Toss sweet potatoes in a bowl with coconut oil and salt-seasoning mixture.
  5. Place on a non-stick baking sheet (or a regular pan greased with coconut oil) and place into the oven. After 10 minutes, take the pan out and flip the chips.
  6. Place chips back in for another 10 minutes.
  7. Pull the pan out and place any chips that are starting to brown on a cooling rack.
  8. Place the chips back in for 3-5 minutes. Every oven is different so keep a close eye on the chips so they don’t burn.
  9. Place remaining chips on the cooling rack.

Enjoy these yummy babies, I know I will!

Word of the day is listen. Take the time to listen to yourself and those around you. It might just make a world of a difference! Have a great day everybody!

-Courtny

Leave a Reply

