exercise · humor

A good laugh…

maxresdefault

Hey guys! It has been a pretty good day today. Worked early today and it went great, everyone did a great job. My mom has started training with me at my workplace and today she got to experience first hand how important the topic I discussed yesterday is.

First I should tell you my mother is an extremely dedicated woman who never gives up and works hard for everything she has ever accomplished. She is currently working out with me twice a week and doing Jazzercise 2-3 times a week. This week with me she had a tough workout on Tuesday and her quads were sore and in Jazzercise they always use your legs, so today she struggled for a bit because her quads were extremely tight and it was becoming painful for her. I decided for her the best route to take would be to use the quad roller in the Trigger Point kits we have at work. It was awful to see her tear up while using this because her quads were so tense, but once she got through the initial discomfort and she focused on deep breaths and slow movements on the roller she was able to feel the release within her muscles. After that her session took a complete 180 and she finished with no pain or tightness. Crazy right?! I was very proud of her, but did ensure that she felt ok to continue.

I was able to get in to my crossfit box today as well after work and it was me and two of my coaches, so it was nice and quiet, which for once was good as I was focusing really hard on getting my snatch to feel just right. I worked on tough and go power snatches (did 4-4-3-3 at 65#, 75#, 85#, 90#) and felt pretty good, however, my hamstrings are still a bit sore from Monday’s KB workout. After that worked on some overhead squats (which felt pretty good), handstand walking practice (these SUCKED today), and rope climbs. I was excited to climb the rope as I have not since I overcame that fear and I think today I was a little nervous to get all the way up. I also found that my forearms and my legs were toast after yesterday’s workout, so I got up as high as I could (usually had about 4-5 ft left to go, so rather frustrating I could not climb it), but I was trying and that is what counts. The WOD for the day consisted of a “Speed” Snatch Ladder, which in a few of the big competitions lately there have been these types of ladders. They are really fun! We had to do 4-3-2-1 full snatches at 75%, 80%, 85%, and 90% of our full snatch 1 RM, so I used 75#, 85#, 90#, 95# for my work and finished in 3:33. My abs and my quads really felt this work out and I did fail one attempt at 85#, but recovered quickly. After all that I worked on paralette push-ups, which I did 2 sets of 4 for the first time ever on my toes (I struggle in my right shoulder due to an old injury) and it felt awesome! Also attempted to work on ring dips, but upper body was shot.

So why am I sharing this with you all? Because I feel really good right now. Getting that workout in was important to me today, I am working at sticking with my routine as my work schedule fills up and I did it. It has put me in such a good mood. If you are struggling today, take even just 20-30 minutes and do something that gets your heart rate up! Trust me you will feel so much better afterwards!

OK, so a good laugh…I absolutely love Jimmy Fallon. I fully believe he has helped turn The Tonight Show into something that all ages can watch and modernized it too. I feel that his predecessors (Carson and Leno) were the perfect fit for their time, but Jimmy Fallon is now and what he is doing is hilarious! So here are a few links to some of my favorite segments he has done on his show so far!

Lip Sync Battle with Emma Stone (probably my favorite)

Lip Sync Battle with Paul Rudd (Paul Rudd is amazing!!!)

Lip Sync Battle with Joseph Gordon Levitt & Steven Merchant (SO DAMN FUNNY!!)

Box of Lies with Channing Tatum

Password with Ellen DeGeneres, Reese Witherspoon, and Steve Carrell

Box of Lies with Emma Stone (she is so cute!)

Alright, I could literally post everything he has ever done on his show, but these will do for now! Happy Thursday all!

-Courtny

Leave a Reply

