motivational · recipe

Thoughtful Friday

OK, I seriously suck at prioritizing sometimes. I can tell you guys I developed a new recipe and will share with you guys right now!

Cinnamon Dolce “Latte” Protein Smoothie by ME

1 cup freshly brewed coffee

1 scoop your choice of whey protein ( I use Arnold’s chocolate whey protein)

1 Tbsp almond butter

1 Tbsp coconut oil

1 Tbsp grass-fed butter

1/4 tsp cinnamon

Brew your coffee in which ever format you like (I use my Keurig). I usually put all the ingredients in the Nutri-Bullet cup I use to blend and drink out of. Having all ingredients in your blender (or if you have a Nutri-Bullet, I highly recommend it) and blend them until they combine evenly.

It should have a nice creamy texture and taste just like a Cinnamon Dolce Latte from Starbucks. SOO freaking good!!

On to other thoughts for the day. I have lived in the Midwest for almost my entire life and I hate to complain about the cold, but this bitter cold spell we have had on and off for the last month and a half has got to stop. It is almost March, it should be starting to slowly warm up. PLEASE!!! OK, rant over.

I have been very busy with work and it has been wonderful. Yesterday my boss and I got our team put together for the Sprint Spartan Race located Miller Park here in Milwaukee. I am the team captain and needless to say am super stoked for this race. It may not be as long as the Tough Mudder, but the fact that we are doing this with our clients makes it super special to me. One of the clients we have at our studio and I already said we are going to wear tutu’s. You know, because tutu’s are crazy badass. Yes. They are. You know it.

tutu

OK, another thing on my mind today. When you are feeling down what do you do about it? Do you cry? Do you scream? Do you punch a pillow? What do you do?

When I am sad or angry my usual go to is cleaning. I will clean my entire house and usually feel better. Today, it was dishes and they only made it worse today. It does not help that with this cold weather the air is SO dry and my hands are cracking due to the dryness, but being in water makes it worse. Not fun. So I was even crankier. Once those were done, I ate breakfast and then I cried. I sat on the kitchen floor and cried. My dog and my cats came over and sat as close to me as they could and snuggled me in hopes they would help me feel better. They did. My dog, Oreo, gave me puppy kisses and then sat in my lap. My cats just stared at me, but I knew they were saying “We love you mom.”

When I have nothing to clean I will bake or cook as well. There is something therapeutic about cooking and baking that melts the worries away, even if for just a little while. Good thing its one of my favorite things to do isn’t it?!

I will also listen to music. This might be because music has been apart of my life for 20 years now. When I clean I will play my favorite country music, when I cook/bake I listen to my favorite boy band and pop music. I am going to share one of my favorite songs from Rascal Flatts that makes me feel like I am flying and sets me free from all my worries. It is called

Fast Cars & Freedom“.

Starin’ at you takin’ off your makeup
Wondering why you even put it on
I know you think you do but baby you don’t need it
Wish that you could see what I see it when it’s gone
I see a dust trail following an old red Nova
Baby blue eyes, your head on my shoulder

[Chorus:]
Wait, baby don’t move, right there it is
T-shirt hanging off a Dogwood Branch
That river was cold but we gave love a chance
Yeah, yeah for me
You don’t look a day over Fast Cars and Freedom
That sunset river bank first time feeling

Yeah, smile and shake your head as if you don’t believe me
I’ll just sit right here and let you take me back
I’m on that gravel road, look at me
On my way to pick you up you’re standing on the front porch
Looking just like that remember that

I see a dust trail following an old red Nova
Baby blue eyes, your head on my shoulder

[Chorus]

I see a dust trail following an old red Nova
Baby blue eyes, your head on my shoulder
You don’t look a day over Fast Cars and Freedom
That sunset river bank first time feeling

If dealing with your negative emotions is something you find difficult, take a minute and just breathe and ponder what it is that puts you in a better mood.

And, even if it is not up your alley, saying a little prayer does not hurt either…He is always there for us.

-Courtny

Leave a Reply

