motivational · nutrition

Spring!!! It’s coming!!

Oh what a beautiful morning!!!! Oh what a beautiful day!! The sun is shining here in Milwaukee this morning and it has been warm, warmer than our usual winter warm standards. We have been in the 40’s and 50’s and it has been glorious! I even had my windows open driving to work yesterday! OK, so it was all of like 3 minutes, but it was nice to have the fresh air streaming into my car. LOVED IT!!

warm-pic-1-funnypicturesutopia-dot-com

It was  a very busy weekend here for me and my husband. His birthday was Saturday so we enjoyed time together and with family. We also went to a friend’s birthday party and got to see many more of our friends from CrossFit. Needless to say it was fun and great to see some amazing people.

I do need to ask for some prayers for my best friend and her family right now, so send one up real quick please! Thank you.

On Sunday the husband and I worked out and then we met with a builder to discuss the beginning process of our house that we plan on building. It was interesting, definitely an overwhelming experience though. I wanted to cry and scream because the $ signs kept adding up in front of me and scared the daylights out of me. But, I know that this is just the process and in the end it will be alright. I just hope, wish, and pray that we will be able to build this year and can take that next step in our lives. It is scary and exciting all at the same time!!

I am finding myself stuck right now, almost at a plateau with my workouts. I am not sure why I feel this way, but I have lost a little bit of my passion and drive and it makes me sad. With it warming up outside that has helped as I love getting my sweat on in our garage gym. Having the sun streaming in and the sounds of birds and the rustling of the leaves (granted there are no leaves yet), but all these things make for a great environment and actually fill me with desire to push harder and try harder in my workouts.

What do you do when you find yourself in a rut? I know as a trainer it is part of the job to help people get out of those ruts, for instance, yesterday I got the chance to help one of my clients do just that. She has fallen off the bandwagon with her nutrition and might have a proposal coming up. So exciting isn’t it?! Anyway, I talked her through the different routes we can take and encouraged her to use that impending life changing event as the motivation to get back on track. She wrote a new goal and now it is posted for her to look at every time she comes in for her workouts. Also just having a back-up plan when bad cravings come about inside of you, have a healthy snack on hand such as carrot sticks or celery if you are looking for a crunchie munch, or a small handful of nuts to get that feeling of eating chips, etc. Or have an apple if you are wanting sugar, it reacts in a similar manner of getting its natural sugars to your bloodstream right away, just like candy does.

You do not have to break the rules, just have something healthy to fall back on, then you won’t feel guilty.

Another idea to consider that give yourself time to have a cheat meal during the week. Eating healthy is the ultimate best thing to do, but if you do not cut yourself some slack, I honestly can say you will head down the wrong path and want to eat nothing but bad things and not go back to healthy stuff as quickly. So plan one day, 24 hours, during the week that you allow yourself to have a cheat meal or 2 and then get back on track with your lifestyle of eating healthy. Just do not over do it.

Have a great week everybody!

-Courtny

Leave a Reply

