life · recipe

One day at a time.

Hey guys, hope you are all well and enjoying life. Since my last post I have done a lot of thinking about life in general due to a few things that have been going on in my life. Rough things, things we wish we could avoid but they happen. Only thing you can do is be there for the people involved and just be supportive no matter what.

I saw my mom cry yesterday and it made me cry. Life is not fair sometimes and she cried. What can you do when your parent cries? As the child, even at 28 years old I look to my parents for help and support and for strength. We tend to forget that they cry too and it hurt so much. There was literally nothing I could do but give her a hug and cry with her and be there for her. But what do you do?

I have been working on staying very strong as a family member of my married family has some serious health issues right now and I just wish it would all disappear so they could just go home again. Please say a few prayers for my family tonight, it would be much appreciated.

In a nutshell guys, take one day at a time and please, please live every day to the fullest as tomorrow you never know what might happen. Yes, I know, how cliched, but it is so true. Also, tell your loved ones how much you love them, even if you had an argument that day. Just tell them that.

A while ago my sister asked me how I liked to cook my squash, so I am going to share that with you all today as I have not shared a recipe in a while.

Roasted Squash (any kind: butternut, spaghetti, acorn, etc)

Pre-heat the oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

On a large cookie sheet, place a sheet of parchment paper.

Using a large knife (with a sturdy handle) cut off the stem of the squash. I usually like to cut below and take a little bit of the top of the squash with it, much easier and then has a flat bottom to use as you slice it in half.

Carefully, slice the squash in half.

Using a spoon, scrap out the threads and seeds. If you wish you can save the seeds and dry them to have seeds to eat as a yummy snack.

On each half of squash, drizzle some EVOO and then coat the inside of the squash with your fingers.

Place the squash halves inside down on the cookie sheet on top of the parchment paper.

If you want to add a sweet flavor or more savory flavor sprinkle cinnamon, paprika, cumin, or basically any spice you might like on your squash.

Bake at 350 degrees for 30-40 minutes, or until the skin of the squash pushes in a little bit. You want the inside to be soft and easy to remove from the skin.

Let cool 5 minutes, place a dollop of grass-fed butter in and enjoy!!

squash

Leave a Reply

