life · motivational · paleo · recipe

My Happy Place

Hey guys! Hope you all had a wonderful weekend. Mine was pretty low key, but had a few highlights as well. I usually work Saturdays and it was a really good day at work. I thrive off of my clients when they are in the throws of an intense workout. Their adrenaline is pumping and I get excited. With still getting over my pneumonia, my lungs are inflamed and leads to me still sounding a bit congested. During my class yesterday morning I got so excited with what was going on I lost my voice for 15 seconds and put myself into a coughing fit. But, it was worth it!! I also had a great chat with my boss and all in all, a great day.

The husband and I laid low the rest of the day until it was time to head out for dinner for his dad’s birthday. It was also birthdays of other family members on his step-mom’s side as well, so it was a huge, fun family get together at a pizza place in Greendale. I haven’t seen this side of out family in a while since I have been sick the last two weeks, I was unable to attend our Easter family function, so needless to say, it was wonderful seeing everybody again and catching up on life.

After that, we stopped by my parents house and hung out with my dad while my mom was at work and got to check out my dad’s new car. I thought it was great, my husband, meh…not a fan, but he is nit-picky when it comes to cars. 😛

Today was fun as my husband got to join me for a work brunch. I finally got to meet the owner’s of where I work and my boss got to meet my husband finally as well. The food and company were both really good and it was fun getting to know the owners as well. After that we drove around enjoying the beautiful Wisconsin spring weather and looked at houses that were up for sale in Tosa. We probably will not buy there, but it is our ultimate back-up plan, so looking never hurts. Besides Tosa is such a beautiful area and the houses are fun to look at.

The rest of the day was spent just relaxing, me getting prepped for work and the husband playing Forza 5 on his Xbox One. I got my third workout in post-pneumonia and it is still frustrating for me as even a 6 minute AMRAP kills me and leaves me completely winded and gasping for air, BUT I still did something and everyday is getting slightly better. It also means I am still working out and staying in shape, which is great.

After getting sick my appetite has been really off, especially in the mornings. I usually like to make my own breakfast sausages, however, I have been finding that I am lacking motivation to cook them as I have gotten bored with them. So, I have been going through all of my paleo cookbooks for a new recipe to try. I decided on a recipe from Danielle Walker’s Against All Grain Cookbook and that recipe was her Sausage Quiche with a Sweet Potato Crust. This was something I have never made before, whether paleo or not, and it excited me because I got to use my pie dish that my husband and I received as a wedding gift last year AND I got to use our mandolin for the first time for the sweet potatoes! Once I got the sweet potatoes sliced, the recipe went super fast and I cannot wait to try it tomorrow morning at work. I am hoping that it will be great and be something for me to eat for a while as my new breakfast in the mornings.

I also had left over grass-fed beef and sweet potatoes so I used those in making a hash to have for lunch throughout the week and it also looks and smells amazing! The hash had the sweet potatoes, onion, and red Bartlett pear in it and so I am pumped to try that too!

Cooking today got me back into a groove that I love to be in. I truly find that the kitchen is my happy place and cooking good, healthy, and tasty food for myself and my husband makes me beyond happy. The sizzling of the frying pan and the aromas that fill the house always put a smile on my face. Do you have a happy place you like to be in or go to? If you do, think about how that place/thing makes you feel and remember that when you are having a bad day or are frustrated over something. If able, go to that place and take the time you need to relax and find your inner peace again.

dog-happy-place

Here is the recipe for the Quiche and here is her website www.againstallgrain.com, check it out. She has some of the best recipes out there!

Sausage Quiche with Sweet Potato Crust

Ingredients:

*EVOO for greasing the pan

*1 medium sweet potato

*1/2 lb sugar-free breakfast sausage, casings removed and crumbled

* 1 tsp chopped fresh rosemary

* 10 eggs

* 3 Tbsp coconut milk

* 1/2 tsp sea salt

* 1/8 tsp cracked black pepper

process:

1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

2) Spread a thin layer of EVOO over the bottom and sides of pie plate.

3) Scrub the sweet potato and dry with a towel.

4) Using a mandolin or sharp knife, slice sweet potato into 1/8″ slices.

5) Arrange the sweet potato slices in a concentric slices around pie plate, slightly overlapping them so they completely cover the bottom of the pie plate.

6) Spread the sausage over the potato trying to cover all of the potatoes.

7) Press the rosemary gently into the sausage.

8) Place the eggs, coconut milk, salt, and pepper in a bowl and whisk vigorously.

9) Pour the beaten egg mixture into the pie plate, gently pressing down any sausage that floats up to the top.

10) Bake for 25-30 minutes, or until the center is set and eggs puffed up.

I used grass-fed ground beef and almond milk as I did not have breakfast sausage or coconut milk handy. I cooked my quiche for 38 minutes due to having more meat in my quiche. Enjoy!!

-Courtny

Leave a Reply

