exercise · life · paleo · recipe

New Recipe coming at you!!

Hey guys, hope you all are doing well wherever you are reading this from. It has been a tough week, but the bright side is it could have been so much worse.

I went to CrossFit on Sunday and completed the workout, but not nearly as intense as I wanted to go, had to reign myself in quite a bit as my lungs are still inflamed from having pneumonia. I am very ready for that to all go away. I was very happy to be with people I enjoy working out with and that they are truly caring people. If you are reading this, thank you for being you guys. You all rock. Monday was a great day, work was great and it was sunny outside. AND the weather is finally on an upward trend, so I am super pumped about that. The only downside to Monday was that one of my favorite couples was eliminated from DWTS. Grrrr, it makes me so sad that Willow and Mark were voted off, I know she could have won it.

Tuesday I was feeling really great during the beginning of my workout in the garage. First part of the workout was all back squats. I hit a back squat at 175# and it felt so good, I decided to try for 195#. My own personal rule is to never go for heavy lifts without someone home with me, but I broke my rule yesterday. I had an issue with my squat and all in all hurt my back. The lucky part is that it is purely muscular, no disc issues. But, I am very upset with myself for thinking I could handle it on my own. So, to anybody out there who is as stubborn as me and want to go for a new PR or a heavy couplet lift, wait for a spotter people, it is not worth the pain in the end. I got lucky, but I could have done a really good number on my back if I didn’t bail properly. Lesson VERY well learned.

This past Friday I made my own pulled pork recipe with a roast my mom had found mislabeled at Sendik’s for $0.50!!! Let me tell you, it was a beautiful pork roast! I used my crockpot to cook it up and then shredded the meat and let it soak up the juices a bit more. So here is the recipe:

Apple & Maple Pulled Pork

Ingredients

2-5 pound pork roast

1 large Fugi apple

1/4 chicken stock

1/2 cup grade B maple syrup

1 TBSP Paprika

1/2 TBSP Italian Seasoning

1 TBSP minced garlic

S & P for flavor

Process:

1) Place pork roast in a crockpot.

2) Add paprika, S & P, Italian seasoning, garlic, and maple syrup evenly over the top of the roast.

3) Chop the Fugi apple into slices and place around and on top of the roast.

4) Pour the chicken stock around the roast, not on top.

5) Cook on low for 8-10 hours or on high for 4-6 hours. Before your cooking time period is up, shred the pork and mix all the meat into the juices in the pot to let it soak up even more flavor.

6) Enjoy!!

I served this pulled pork with Stupid Easy Paleo’s Simple Paleo Tortillas ** and added some shredded cheese on top (so made the dish primal, not paleo) and my husband and I devoured everything in a span of 5 minutes. TO DIE FOR GUYS!!!

** I ran out of Arrowroot flour with the first batch of tortillas made, so for my second batch I did use Tapioca Flour and resulted in the same type of tortilla, maybe slightly sweeter, but still delicious!

Have a great day everybody. Enjoy the sunshine and the gorgeous weather!!

spring

Leave a Reply

