exercise · family · life

Birthday Week!

Hey all, hope you are all doing great and that your July has treated you well so far. Mine has been pretty good so far and continues to get better every day.

My husband and I are getting closer to having all the paperwork figured out for our house, but more importantly we have our house prints and we LOVE how it turned out. The flow of it is perfect and has everything we wanted to have. Needless to say, we cannot wait to keep progress moving forward so we can purchase a lot and actually say “This is where we are going to live…this is where we are going to start our family one day”.

I have been loving my time so far at our new CrossFit box; the people there are great and the programming has been really good. I think the one thing I like is, it is varied like CrossFit should be, but has so many of the little things thrown in and in the past the focus was never on the little things. I mean after three years of CF I would have thought pull-ups would be no big deal and ring dips and rope climbs. Yet, I struggle so much with these little things, so even though I might be slower than others when these movements are a part of the WOD, I am not going to let that slow me down or discourage me. You will never get better if you don’t try. Even if you are having a bad day, if you still did the work, that is one step closer to having that movement down. So, to anybody out there struggling with a lift or a gymnastics move, or nutrition change, etc, just know that just by trying (even on days you just don’t want to do it and want to give up), when you push past that barrier, that is success. You are driven to succeed, so don’t give up. Keep working through it.

I have been enjoying cooking for my family while we are in-between houses right now. Last night my mom and I came up with a super yummy side dish to go along with the Kalua Pig recipe from Nom Nom Paleo cookbook. Here is the recipe:

Eggplant & Roasted Peppers

Ingredients:

1 eggplant, sliced into coins

1 yellow pepper, sliced

1 Tbsp ghee

1.5 tsp fresh rosemary

s & p to taste

Process:

In a cast iron skillet, heat the ghee on medium-high heat. Once melted and it coats the pan, toss in the eggplant, pepper slices. Sprinkle with s & p and the rosemary and saute about 8-10 minutes, or until the eggplant is soft.

*If you do not have fresh yellow peppers on hand, if you have the fire roasted peppers from Trader Joe’s sitting in your pantry, those will work too.

Trust me, this recipe is SOOO good!

This week I turn 29 and I’m feeling ok about that so far, but it really blows my mind that my twin and I will be 29 this year. I am looking forward to the birthday celebrations going on from Thursday till Saturday; getting to see some of my friends along the way and being with family too, it should be a good time.

images (1)

Have a great day everybody!!

-Courtny

Leave a Reply

