life

Change is a good thing

When it rains it pours and it has been “pouring” for my husband and I for the last few weeks. In the last three to four weeks many, many changes have happened in our lives. We have also dealt with a few rough situations that actually turned out for the better too. So change is not a bad thing in retrospect.

For starters, a friend from high school visited from California and we got the chance to WOD together at CrossFit. It was truly a lot of fun to catch up and get our sweat on all at the same time! She is such an inspiration to me with what she has accomplished since high school, whether its with her career or with her fitness goals, she has a great attitude about it and is so driven! I think she does a Spartan Race like every weekend, runs a few half marathons in-between and CrossFits. How bad ass is that?!

cf

We had a fun weekend with my best friend and her husband out on their boat one weekend, and I also got to spend time with my other best friend shopping. Women do their best catching up while shopping you know! My friend with the boat has a slip in downtown Milwaukee, so we spent an evening bbq’ing, going to a car show with some awesome cars and cruising the Milwaukee Harbor till dusk. We had a really great night and took some fun pics too.

boat2                     boat1

After these fun things, shit hit the fan. In a nutshell, we had a lot picked out for our house that was for sale by owner. Let’s just say the owner was a bit on the nutso side and we made the decision to look elsewhere. It was a very frustrating situation to be in, but it was also a learning lesson and a blessing all at the same time. My husband and I found a beautiful lot a tony bit further west then originally planned, but it is 1.37 acres and in a great location. It’s quiet and peaceful and perfect for our next chapter in life! So far the process is going much better than with the other lot and we are hoping to break ground by the end of the month.

lot

I have been able to step into more roles at work too the last month and am looking forward seeing my vision continue to flourish the next 2 months with the challenge we are doing there. I am also a part of the challenge and have goals for the next 2 months. Some of the goals are to improve my nutrition, even though I eat VERY well, living in my parents house has been tough with the non-paleo foods and thus my will power has been not as good. I also want to work on my pull-ups, and drop 2-3% in body fat while maintaining muscle mass. I know these goals are achievable, it just means I have to be willing to do what it takes to get there.

Having said that, if you have some goals you want to reach as we enter the last few months of 2015, write them down and make a plan to reach them. There is nothing standing in your way but you. You can do anything you set your mind on. Go for it!

-Courtny

Leave a Reply

