exercise · family · life

(Almost new month), Feeling Like a New Me.

Well, life sure has been a roller-coaster ride the last two months. My husband and I have had some awfully high highs both in our relationship, but also in our careers, and we have had some not too lows, but too many lows that have made it a rough go. Being adults sure can be frustrating at times, but I am very grateful for the love and support I have in my life.

Over the last few months I have been working very hard to progress in my career, and I feel I am getting there, just not as quickly as I would like. Sometimes there are uncontrollable obstacles that stand in the way of what you are trying to accomplish and the key is to figure out how to move past them. Luckily for me, I am a thinker, a doer, and an extremely motivated person who knows what she wants and will stop at nothing to be successful, so it is fun trying to work through these types of problems. 🙂

Ever since switching CrossFit boxes in June I have been truly enjoying the experience at CrossFit Muskego. The coaches, the people, and the programming are all great and I have improved my lifts, technique, and confidence in many areas. After injuring my back in April, I had it in my mind that there was a chance I might not hit the numbers I was hoping to hit this year at all. With the pre-WOD programming we do, as well as the proper warm-up and recovery it is crazy that I am not only pain free in my back, but hitting crazy numbers (crazy for me, maybe not others), all over the place. Now let me first say, I am not focusing on PR’s all the time, I enjoy working at percentages and that type of work has paid off. Now, I just need to practice more pull-ups and dips so I can finally master those….

On Wednesday, October 14th Toni Diem passed away after nearly 8 years of fighting breast cancer. She was the wife of my band director, one of the most amazing professors, but most amazing men I have ever had the pleasure of knowing in my life. She was his shining light and when she was around the band, always smiling and laughing and being a nerd right along with us. It was an event we all knew was coming, but to still realize that she is gone, well that is hard and I wish the best for my professor and his boys. RIP Toni, we love you.

Now, the really big part of the last two months. I have not said much about it to anyone but family and close friends, but we (husband and I), have been living in a nightmare just trying to get our house and lot. Long story short, we have been unfortunate to meet some rude people who have no respect or faith in us and have done nothing but lie to us, but in the end we finally will be starting construction on our 1st house (together that is, 2nd overall). We are very blessed to be having this opportunity and are beyond excited to get started as we are thrilled that by the spring we will have a home to call our own again. I keep joking that we have an address now…and now we just need a place to live! If any body else out there is building or buying, my best advice to you is to have patience with the process. This comes from a person who does have a hard time being patient and not being in control, but with time even I have learned to be better about them.

I have been having fun with baking when I have the time too and have developed many more recipes that I have had my family taste test for me. I even have shared my favorites with one of my favorite clients at work and she and her fiance LOVE one of them and eat it often. That in itself makes me smile. Food can be delicious and simple at the same time!

Life-quote-part-1-23

Leave a Reply

