Uncategorized

Holy crap…It’s November!

Today is November 1st. How did we get here so quickly?

fall-harvest

Halloween yesterday was fun, but it was so dreary here in Wisconsin. It rained most of the day and thus was uber cloudy, windy, and wet for trick-or-treating. I was excited to hand out candy as we have this huge black cauldron that the candy goes in and the kids get to pick from there what they want.

candy

One thing I noticed while handing out candy last night was how well behaved the children were that came by the house, including the older ones. Lots of thank yous and Happy Halloweens were said. It was shocking actually, but in the best way possible. For me it was a sign of hope that not all children are spoiled rotten and have no manners and that parents are still teaching their children to be polite. I worry at times when I am out at the lack of parenting this happening when parents ignore their kids or kids talk back to you, etc., but too just have them say thank you last night, it was hope. Now, before anyone gets angry I am simply stating observations that I have made in my life. I am not saying anyone that reads this is a bad parent or that your kids are unruly as I may have never met you and thus would not know, but simply making observations is all.

I have been enjoying cooking recently with some new cookbooks I have gotten over the last few months. I have said it before, but being in the kitchen is my happy place. I am by no means the best cook or baker out there, but by cooking different types of foods, using different methods I am slowly learning and getting better. Nothing is more pleasing then smelling the scent of the food in the over, it makes your mouth water and anxious to eat it when it comes out. What makes cooking even more fun is when you get to cook with your loved one. This morning my husband and I made breakfast together and then sat at the kitchen bar and enjoyed it together, savoring every single bite of it. It was soo good too. Those moments, those are the ones that make the day worth living.

A few weeks ago I was creating in the kitchen and developed a new protein smoothie recipe, so here it is:

Chocolate Coconut Protein Smoothie

1 scoop chocolate whey protein

1/2-3/4 cup almond milk

1 Tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder

2 Tbsp unsweetened coconut flakes (I use toasted coconut, but you can use whatever you have)

handful of ice cubes

Process: Place all ingredients in a blender or Nutribullet and blend together until fully combined. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

