Halloween · life · Uncategorized

Happy Halloween!

happy-halloween-from-improveit-360

I am finding it so hard to believe that today is Halloween!! Is it just me or has 2016 literally flown by?! I personally have not done much in recent years for Halloween as my husband and I usually have not had trick or treating, or gone out to a Halloween Party, etc. Last year I sat on my parents porch wrapped in blankets in the rain handing out candy and keeping up to date on the start time of my Gopher football game. It was pretty uneventful. Previous years we never handed out candy as our neighborhood never had a lot of children. And I have not dressed up for Halloween since college, so it has been a loooong time! This year, this year we actually went out and it was super fun!

At the last-minute I changed my costume from Gamora (Guardians of the Galaxy) to Wonder Woman. My husband went as the Star Lord (also Guardians of the Galaxy)…he had the mask and the fake plastic gun the Star Lord had in the movie even! I loved my costume, it was shiny and fun and I felt (for the most part) awesome in it, even with the super short skirt. We went with our best friends to a bier-house in the area to their first annual Halloween Party. Definitely a slightly older crowd,but they had a great live band and a T-Rex came and danced and it was by far the funniest thing I have seen, ever! We enjoyed the music, the people watching, danced, and my bff and I even joined in a beer stein holding contest. It was us 2 women vs like 5 men. I still say had I not worked out that morning I might have lasted longer. But they had filled up the steins with beer, and they were super heavy! In the end, it was a fun evening and it was great to be with friends.

Halloween is such a fun holiday…it is up there on my list of favorite holidays..but, lovers of the thrilling, the gory, and the scary to people who love the classic movies like Hocus Pocus, Practical Magic, and Casper, Halloween has something for everybody. When my twin sister and I were little, our mother made us handmade costumes, like princesses on our horses, red riding hood and a Green Bay Packer cheerleader, and even Dorothy from The Wizard of Oz with ruby-red slippers (Keds we painted red and then sprinkled red glitter onto them!). Every year our mom would put out corn stalks and we would carve pumpkins and obviously go trick-or-treating…it was always so much fun! I do remember one year we went to a haunted house with one of our oldest friends and her brother and since then I never go to Haunted Houses. It’s not that I am scared, but for me it’s more so the fact that I know that someone is going to come up behind me and scare me and I know that a head will pop up from behind the gravestone, so I stress out more knowing what’s going to happen to me than the actually scary parts. I know I am weird, but hey what can you do?!

I also love that starting tomorrow it’s November. This year I am beyond excited to get to Thanksgiving and Christmas as this year more than ever, we have so much to be thankful for. My husband and I get to host our first Holiday season with my parents, my grandmother, my sister and brother-in-law all here to eat Turkey and watch the parade and dog show. Then this is the first year in a long while my mom, sister, grandmother, and I get to all go Black Friday shopping, THAT makes me so excited! For Christmas we get to have my husband’s side of the family over on Christmas Day and we have a new baby in the family and one of our cousin’s just got engaged and another baby is on the way too! Like I said, SO MUCH to be thankful for.

Enjoy your day today everybody, whether it is enjoying movies with your loved ones sipping on hot cocoa, or its going through a haunted corn maze, make the most of your Halloween! I know I will be watching movies and sipping cocoa! 😀

-Courtny

Leave a Reply

