Uncategorized

Day 16: Something That Truly Doesn’t Matter

Surprisingly this is an easy topic to discuss today. Something that truly doesn’t and shouldn’t matter is what other people think of you. This concept has taken me an awful long time to overcome, and some days I can honestly say I do focus on it WAY too much. However, I have become a lot better at not letting the thoughts of what others think of me get in the way of how I live my life and it has greatly improved my confidence in myself.

When I was in high school it was difficult to fit in at times, I’m sure you can remember your own personal experiences of how high school can be. I wanted people to like me so badly at times that I tried too hard and it turned people off from wanting to get to know me for who I really was, which was a fun, spunky, caring, loyal person. So in order to fit in I did everything based off of what I thought people would think was cool. How dumb is that?!?! But that is high school. Everybody wants to fit in one way or another.

In college it was not as bad, but it would still hit me that I wanted people to think I was this super fun girl with a great personality. I can say now that I did try to hard at times and was found to be more annoying because I cared way too much about what people thought. Then it hit me, my true friends liked me for who I was and not for trying to be somebody I was not. Those people are still my friends today. The others, more so acquaintances, which is ok!

As an adult most of the time I do find it easier to just be me as my friends are my friends because I am me. Just like they are themselves and I love them for it. We will all think things about people, both good bad about anybody we don’t know, but also of the people we do know. It does not mean that it changes who they are, it is simply a thought and thoughts don’t always have to mean anything. Why? Because thoughts are thoughts and usually forgotten about shortly after.

Be the person you know you are. Don’t worry about trying to fit in, trust me it is not worth the headache. What matters is that you are true to yourself and enjoy the people that are in your life because they also like you for you. Don’t ever change!

-Courtny

Leave a Reply

