family · life

Uff da…

I feel as if I reintroduce myself a lot on here, but life tends to take over (as it should) and I push the things I enjoy to do for myself to the wayside. Last post was in April. SO MUCH has happened since then. We took our first family trip to Colorado, which included Cody’s first airplane ride, and we went for hikes and walks (because there is actually places to walk there unlike where I live) just to name a few things. Of course we shopped, we saw other friends who live out there and just enjoyed seeing Cody with his grandma and grandpa. It was a great trip.

In June I suffered a back injury, most likely from poor posture, but it really took a toll on me. It was to the point that I couldn’t even bend over or pick up my son or tie my shoes. I did therapy and exercises to do at home, but it definitely slowed down the progress I was hoping to make in the spring, BUT that’s ok. I had come to the conclusion that I was not looking to hit the numbers I used to hit in CF, I wanted to focus more on making my body stronger and physically better for preparing for another pregnancy down the road and improving my weaknesses, such as my back and my plantar fasciitis. If I continued to use improper movement patterns it would not do me any good, so I was happy with my new goals.

I also attended a seminar in June, the Adaptive CrossFit Training Seminar. It was one of the most fun seminars I have attended and I learned so much valuable information. It was also great to see one of my CF Level 1 Instructors, Kevin Ogar again, he is so fun! It was an all day thing down in Chicago where we learned how to structure workouts/exercises for different adaptive athletes. It ranged from learning how to do things with just one arm or one leg to someone who might be in a wheelchair, and we touched briefly on neuromuscular adaptations and other more internal medical based issues. Being an adaptive athlete, in my opinion, is more of a challenge in the best way possible then someone who is not an adaptive athlete. The amount of respect I have now for that community is ten-fold and I hope to bring that knowledge to my gym and help more people realize that they indeed can do these things they may have thought they could not previously do!

In July Cody turned one! Growing up I always thought birthdays were just about turning another year older and getting some great presents from the family. However, now being a mother, I realize that birthdays are so much MORE than that. It might sound cliche, but it is more than just about the person who was born, such as my son, it is also about the parents, especially the moms who gave birth to the birthday person. That whole day I just remembered that I finally got to meet my son, that I finally got to hold him and hug him and give him all the love in the world. That was the day I was reborn too. You go through so many emotions on the day of your child’s birth, so I recommend taking time to remember those precious moments on your child’s birthday, they mean so much.

In August my husband and I celebrated our 5th wedding anniversary, and took Cody to his first CrossFit Games in Madison. It was a warm day when we went out there, but we had such a great time. I saw most of my Level 1 instructors again and they got to meet Cody and we of course did some good shopping and watching the athletes kick major butt out on the competition floor. Cody had so much fun he fell asleep, but it was a good day overall. We cannot wait to go back next summer.

In September we took another trip out to Colorado to visit my parents for a long weekend and it was full of fun adventures. Cody got to go on a train for the first time in the Rockies, and we went in a Gold Mine! At the mine, you could pan for gold, but I took Cody to go play with the waterfall and toys, he thought that was FANTASTIC. Matt and I visited two of our favorite CrossFit boxes, CrossFit Beaver Menace (our home away from home) and CrossFit WatchTower. Both are fantastic and a must if you are in Castle Rock or Littleton. Cody did so good on the plane rides again, he loved looking out the window this time as we landed in Denver, all the co-motion on  tarmac was so intriguing to him. And for me just seeing the curiosity on his face is priceless.

The rest of fall has been relatively uneventful. October was Halloween and Cody was Yoda, Matt was Emperor Palpatine, and I was Rey from Star Wars. We went trick-or-treating at a friends house in the rain, but it was still a lot of fun. My dad came out to visit us in October and that was great just to have some company during the day, actual adult conversation vs. talking to Cody (not that that is a bad thing but you get lonely by yourself during the day). November was even more uneventful, just Thanksgiving with family. We did our annual Black Friday shopping with Cody this year and he did so good the entire time we were out. The end of the month, about the time of Thanksgiving, though, we had our fridge die on us and we lost over $500 in food and all of my breastmilk I had pumped to have for Cody as we worked on weaning him were lost. That might have been more a blow to me than losing our fridge because it came from me. I would pump in the middle of the night, during the day, when I was still working at work and it was about 250oz, not a lot compared to some, but since I became a SAHM I didn’t need to pump as often. It took them till 12/4 to fix our fridge, so we went a week and a half with no working fridge. Luckily, we had two coolers and a deep freezer in the garage. The other saving grace was the warranty was still good, but they are not guaranteeing it will be fixed 100% as the issue is an issue that comes back frequently, so long story short, DO NOT buy an LG fridge with the linear compressor. Waste of money.

I’m usually so pumped and excited for Christmas, but this year it has been hard to find my holiday spirit, so I’m hoping it gets to me soon so I stop feeling like such a Scrooge or Grinch. I hope to post more frequently, as I find this as a good way to express myself and have some me time….because let’s face it, us moms need to have some me time during the day too.

Have a great day all!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a comment